KC Combo won’t go past S (smoke)

Dj144a

New member
Joined
May 5, 2020
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
McKinney Texas
My KC combo is relatively new. Bought in late May. It was working great then today I started a cook. Set dial to S(smoke) and will not go any further. Auger is working, it fires up, fan is going. When I try to turn temp up it does not move after that from S.
I need help!! This grill is worthless if I can’t get temp over 200 degrees!
 

Sparky

Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2020
Messages
68
Reaction score
26
Points
18
Location
Mesquite,TX
Have you tried to turn it off, unplug it for a few min & try again. Mine did it once, did this and was working fine. Make sure you keep the door open when starting it up. Are you using the Pit Boss or Smoke It app?
 
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #3

Dj144a

New member
Joined
May 5, 2020
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
McKinney Texas
Have you tried to turn it off, unplug it for a few min & try again. Mine did it once, did this and was working fine. Make sure you keep the door open when starting it up. Are you using the Pit Boss or Smoke It app?
thank you for replying.
Yes, I have turned it on and off, I have unplugged it for several hours and nothing. Door is always open when starting. Any other suggestions, I’ll try anything at this point.
 

Sparky

Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2020
Messages
68
Reaction score
26
Points
18
Location
Mesquite,TX
thank you for replying.
Yes, I have turned it on and off, I have unplugged it for several hours and nothing. Door is always open when starting. Any other suggestions, I’ll try anything at this point.
Have you got it working?
 
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #7

Dj144a

New member
Joined
May 5, 2020
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
McKinney Texas
Have you got it working?
No, unfortunately I do not. I contacted dave as you suggested. He had no answer for me. He suggested I call customer service, which I had been trying to do. It is not easy to get them on the phone. Looks like I will be down for a while. I’m sick about it. I bought this grill in late May. It’s summertime and I love to cook in the summertime!!
 

MikeInFla

Active member
Joined
Apr 24, 2020
Messages
206
Reaction score
43
Points
28
Location
Panama City, FL
Try calling them in the morning and leave a call back number. They are easier to get ahold of early in the day. Someone also suggested send them a message on Facebook (I am not on FB but that's what someone here said to do). Either way leave them your number.
 
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #9

Dj144a

New member
Joined
May 5, 2020
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
McKinney Texas
Try calling them in the morning and leave a call back number. They are easier to get ahold of early in the day. Someone also suggested send them a message on Facebook (I am not on FB but that's what someone here said to do). Either way leave them your number.
Got it, thank you also for your help.
 

DaveXDm9

Active member
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
284
Reaction score
91
Points
28
Location
Tennessee
No, unfortunately I do not. I contacted dave as you suggested. He had no answer for me. He suggested I call customer service, which I had been trying to do. It is not easy to get them on the phone. Looks like I will be down for a while. I’m sick about it. I bought this grill in late May. It’s summertime and I love to cook in the summertime!!
Sorry I am not familiar with that PID controller plus there are not alot of user with that grill so we can all learn from as you guys are Pit Boss's guiena pigs on these new Platinum series.
 

X5ncross1971

New member
Joined
Aug 3, 2020
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Gilbert Az
My KC combo is relatively new. Bought in late May. It was working great then today I started a cook. Set dial to S(smoke) and will not go any further. Auger is working, it fires up, fan is going. When I try to turn temp up it does not move after that from S.
I need help!! This grill is worthless if I can’t get temp over 200 degrees!
Mine is on second control board and firmware issues abound!
 
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #13

Dj144a

New member
Joined
May 5, 2020
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
McKinney Texas
Sorry I am not familiar with that PID controller plus there are not alot of user with that grill so we can all learn from as you guys are Pit Boss's guiena pigs on these new Platinum series.
I agree, I knew that when I bought it. Which is why I was so thankful for you guys even taking the time to try and help me. I know this is kind of uncharted territory. This grill has a 5 year warranty, so I said what the hell, if it doesn’t work they will have to fix it! I plan to be a good guinea pig and let you guys know how this is progressing.
P.S
I also have a Memphis Ultimate (platinum series unused) right next to my KC Combo. We will see how this goes!
 

Latest Discussions

Top