Cant get accurate read from temp probe

Sbloom1572

New member
Joined
Jun 18, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
33837
My probe is reading the internal temp of the grill. 5 mins into the cook my probe was reading 180
 
Last edited:

DaveXDm9

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
524
Reaction score
176
Points
43
Location
Tennessee
Sbloom1572,

Can you provide a bit more information. What was the temperature you had set for the grill? Are we talking about the internal probe or the meat probes?
 
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #3

Sbloom1572

New member
Joined
Jun 18, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
33837
Sbloom1572,

Can you provide a bit more information. What was the temperature you had set for the grill? Are we talking about the internal probe or the meat probes?
225 and it is the meat probe, it measures within 25 degrees of the grill temp.
 

MikeInFla

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 24, 2020
Messages
475
Reaction score
109
Points
43
Location
Panama City, FL
I don't trust the probe that comes with the PB. Mine always reads about 50 degrees higher than what it should so I stopped using it. I bought one of these and it works awesome and I can keep up with it on my phone.

Chugod Thermometer at Amazon

You simply download the app to your phone, turn on the Chugod and plug it into the meat. Plus it has setting that will alert you when the meat hits desired temp.
 

biffhero

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2020
Messages
74
Reaction score
13
Points
8
Location
Milpitas, CA
Does that same lack of trust extend to the internal thermostat? If a recipe calls for 350, do you set the grill to 300?
 

DaveXDm9

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
524
Reaction score
176
Points
43
Location
Tennessee
Does that same lack of trust extend to the internal thermostat? If a recipe calls for 350, do you set the grill to 300?

I trust the internal grill probe it does what it is supposed to do for a non-PID controller.
 

Latest Discussions

Top