Ignitor issues!

jheagen

New member
Joined
Jan 22, 2021
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Location
Zanesville, Ohio 43701
Got the Pitboss 820 as a xmas gift from my children. Followed the instruction to break the smoker in and everything went well. Tried to smoke some ribs the next day that the grill started fine on the smoke setting. Put the ribs on and checked on them in 30 minutes and the grill was cold the pellet were accumulating in the burn pot and the ignitor was not working. cleaned out off of the pellets to try again and the igniter does not work. Very frustrating for a new grill. Now I can't reach anyone at customer service and they do not call back as they say. will probably just return the grill as it will be less hassle.
 

DaveXDm9

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
795
Reaction score
331
Location
Tennessee
I would keep trying to contact Pit Boss. Morning is the best time to get a hold of them and most likely your issue is a bad controller since your grill was running and the was fire burning and died out it is possible the controller. Give them a call and walk them through your issue and they will take care of it.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2021
Messages
36
Reaction score
19
Location
75801
Take it back. When buying something brand new - it should work . People want to use it and not become a repair extension for Pitt Boss. This forum is full of "they will take care of it" and continued issues.
 

JOE URSICH

New member
Joined
Oct 15, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
5
Location
LAKE HAVASU CITY AZ. 86406
Got the Pitboss 820 as a xmas gift from my children. Followed the instruction to break the smoker in and everything went well. Tried to smoke some ribs the next day that the grill started fine on the smoke setting. Put the ribs on and checked on them in 30 minutes and the grill was cold the pellet were accumulating in the burn pot and the ignitor was not working. cleaned out off of the pellets to try again and the igniter does not work. Very frustrating for a new grill. Now I can't reach anyone at customer service and they do not call back as they say. will probably just return the grill as it will be less hassle.
Hi,
Surprise nobody answered you yet, I did the same thing, found out it was a mistake on my end. You need to set it on smoke when you first start up, go to YouTube. Probably when you did your break in You accumulated a lot of ash and should have cleaned it out. Again go to YouTube, it will show you when you first start up be in the smoke position lid open , after that smoke dies out then put it on your temperature you’re going to try for the cook good luck
 

GMoney

New member
Joined
Mar 5, 2021
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Location
03070
Another vote for user error. I had the same issue and was very frustrated as well. I don't know why it matters but Joe is correct. Open the lid, set to smoke (light) and after it is lite and smoke dissipates a bit, set your temp.
The other issue I had was GFCI tripping but that is another thread and a different GFCI outlet works fine (or no GFCI outlet).
Keep the burn pot clean as well...
 

JackmaElen

New member
Joined
Mar 7, 2021
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Location
New York
Sad! Please contact the Pit Boss for it's replacement. However, I have been using Pit Boss various model for years and they always worked perfectly fine.

Hope, you will get your new replacement soon!
 

Latest Discussions

Top