850 pit boss won’t fire up

Ike

New member
Joined
Jul 24, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Carthage Tx
My pit isn’t a month old,and it will not fire up at all. I’ve held the prime button for more than 10 mins. It’s never taken so long to fire up.
 

MikeInFla

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 24, 2020
Messages
482
Reaction score
109
Points
43
Location
Panama City, FL
Sounds like the ignitor is bad this is a common issue. Contact Pit Boss customer support and leave a call back number.
 

DaveXDm9

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
530
Reaction score
179
Points
43
Location
Tennessee
My pit isn’t a month old,and it will not fire up at all. I’ve held the prime button for more than 10 mins. It’s never taken so long to fire up.

I suggest you do is take everything out of the grill and run it with the lid up and look at the igniter to see if it is getting red or you can place your hand over it and feel if there is heat. If there is no heat then like Mike said it is the igniter.

I would go to amazon and purchase one and then call Pit Boss because you are going to be waiting at least 4 to 6 weeks for a replacement part. They will send out a new one and at least you will have a back up unless you want to go that long without your grill.
 
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #4

Ike

New member
Joined
Jul 24, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Carthage Tx
Yes I ordered the part on amazon already. Thing Is my pit isn’t even a month old yet
 

MikeInFla

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 24, 2020
Messages
482
Reaction score
109
Points
43
Location
Panama City, FL
I would still contact PB. They will send a replacement part and now you will have a spare. But yeah, it sucks having to get new parts for a new smoker.
 

DaveXDm9

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
530
Reaction score
179
Points
43
Location
Tennessee
Yes I ordered the part on amazon already. Thing Is my pit isn’t even a month old yet

There you go and now you will have a spare part once they send it which will be a forever wait.
 

spudthegreater

New member
Joined
Jul 30, 2020
Messages
20
Reaction score
6
Points
3
Location
Dike Iowa
My pit isn’t a month old,and it will not fire up at all. I’ve held the prime button for more than 10 mins. It’s never taken so long to fire up.
I thought i had this problem, i ended up taking the bottom plate off the hopper to access the wiring, found the igniter harness connector, took it apart and snapped it back together, confirmed with an ohm meter that both sides of the connector had continuity, then, (this is important,) plug the power into a non gfci outlet with a 14 Guage or thicker short extension cord (if needed) push the power button on, prime the pellets, Then turn it to smoke. I found the igniter timed out waiting for the primer button to feed the pellets and therefore wouldn't lite them and they just piled up. it may take a few minutes, but mine finally did light up and smoked hard for a few mins then cleared and was ready to put the lid down on the barrel and heat up. Try it again.
 

DaveXDm9

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
530
Reaction score
179
Points
43
Location
Tennessee
I thought i had this problem, i ended up taking the bottom plate off the hopper to access the wiring, found the igniter harness connector, took it apart and snapped it back together, confirmed with an ohm meter that both sides of the connector had continuity, then, (this is important,) plug the power into a non gfci outlet with a 14 Guage or thicker short extension cord (if needed) push the power button on, prime the pellets, Then turn it to smoke. I found the igniter timed out waiting for the primer button to feed the pellets and therefore wouldn't lite them and they just piled up. it may take a few minutes, but mine finally did light up and smoked hard for a few mins then cleared and was ready to put the lid down on the barrel and heat up. Try it again.

When the prime button is engage the igniter shuts off now that info I was told not from Pit Boss. I never tested it, but let us know what happens if everything is working.
 

spudthegreater

New member
Joined
Jul 30, 2020
Messages
20
Reaction score
6
Points
3
Location
Dike Iowa
Case Notes:
Notes
A New Case has been created from your email.
Hey ,
In order to figure out if it is the igniter itself no longer working, or perhaps the control board no longer sending the correct signal to the igniter I have a few steps for you to follow.

1. Unplug your grill from power.
2. Remove the “Hopper Access Panel” from the bottom of the pellet hopper (this will be a black metal grate).
3. Locate the igniter wires (purple/white to white/white).
4. Locate the fan wires (yellow/white to yellow/yellow).
5. Disconnect the wire connections between the igniter and fan wires.
6. Cross connect the wires (purple/white to yellow/yellow) and (yellow/white to white/white)
7. Plug in grill.
8. Power on to the “SMOKE” setting with lid on barrel open.
9. *If the igniter works when connected to the fan wires, then you need most likely need a new control board.
10. *If the fan works when connected to igniter wires, then you need most likely need a new igniter.
11. *If for some reason both the igniter and fan are working after switching the wires than it was most likely a loose wire connection to begin with, switch the wires back to their original placement to test this.


you can manually light the unit. there are instructions in the manual
Back to All Cases
apple app store
 

DaveXDm9

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
530
Reaction score
179
Points
43
Location
Tennessee
Case Notes:
Notes
A New Case has been created from your email.
Hey ,
In order to figure out if it is the igniter itself no longer working, or perhaps the control board no longer sending the correct signal to the igniter I have a few steps for you to follow.

1. Unplug your grill from power.
2. Remove the “Hopper Access Panel” from the bottom of the pellet hopper (this will be a black metal grate).
3. Locate the igniter wires (purple/white to white/white).
4. Locate the fan wires (yellow/white to yellow/yellow).
5. Disconnect the wire connections between the igniter and fan wires.
6. Cross connect the wires (purple/white to yellow/yellow) and (yellow/white to white/white)
7. Plug in grill.
8. Power on to the “SMOKE” setting with lid on barrel open.
9. *If the igniter works when connected to the fan wires, then you need most likely need a new control board.
10. *If the fan works when connected to igniter wires, then you need most likely need a new igniter.
11. *If for some reason both the igniter and fan are working after switching the wires than it was most likely a loose wire connection to begin with, switch the wires back to their original placement to test this.


you can manually light the unit. there are instructions in the manual
Back to All Cases
apple app store

Nice instructions from Pit Boss with this China crap controller. Hopefully they will get a new PID controller out soon for the Pro Series, Navigation, Austin, and Sportsman models soon.

My Savannah Stoker controller and my new Yoder controller tells you if the igniter is working or not.
 

spudthegreater

New member
Joined
Jul 30, 2020
Messages
20
Reaction score
6
Points
3
Location
Dike Iowa
I get ya, all it takes is money....sometimes we gotta make due with what we get. Sometimes its just user error, but with chinese slave labor you never know what you're going to get. One owner discovered the wiring connections were swapped on his new unit by looking at the schematic.
 

DaveXDm9

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
530
Reaction score
179
Points
43
Location
Tennessee
I get ya, all it takes is money....sometimes we gotta make due with what we get. Sometimes its just user error, but with chinese slave labor you never know what you're going to get. One owner discovered the wiring connections were swapped on his new unit by looking at the schematic.
there were more than one owner this happen too. I guess the factory worker could not read directions.
 

johnnytuinals

New member
Joined
Apr 23, 2020
Messages
15
Reaction score
4
Points
3
Location
Poconos
I have had my 1100 since April and very happy with it butttt
I am still learning how to smoke.
Only problem I have had was a burn Out in the pellet fire box inside the grill where the pellets were not burning and grill cooled off.
I did not look into the Fire box buttttt did look into the Pellet holder box and saw many of my pellets were not going into the auger to the fire box I would have guessed.Anyways I filled up the Pellet box and hit the Prime button to push some of the pellets to start the grill I felt.Anyways Grill did not start up so I took the grates off the grill and saw a Over Fill on pellets in the fire box.Shopvac it out and let the Pellets come out without hitting the prime button.......Well every works,Think my problem is to always make sure that the pellet box is always filled with pellets....MY SCREW UP...........JT
 

spudthegreater

New member
Joined
Jul 30, 2020
Messages
20
Reaction score
6
Points
3
Location
Dike Iowa
Yes, i had read similar experiences before I bought mine. I removed the pellet hopper guard grate so i could occasionally stir up the pellets to fill the void that occasionally occurs. Yes I KNOW the guard grate is a safety thing, but you'd have to be completely mentally deficient to get your hand or fingers chewed up by that auger moving as slowly as does. Completely unnecessary, that's what the lids for anyway.
 

MikeInFla

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 24, 2020
Messages
482
Reaction score
109
Points
43
Location
Panama City, FL
Yes, i had read similar experiences before I bought mine. I removed the pellet hopper guard grate so i could occasionally stir up the pellets to fill the void that occasionally occurs. Yes I KNOW the guard grate is a safety thing, but you'd have to be completely mentally deficient to get your hand or fingers chewed up by that auger moving as slowly as does. Completely unnecessary, that's what the lids for anyway.
I did the same thing. I took mine off over a year ago so I can mix them up. I still have the guard on my vertical pellet smoker but I use a broom stick to move them around.
 

Latest Discussions

Top