Temperature issues

Sssmokin

New member
Joined
Apr 18, 2020
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Orange County
So I fired up my pit boss today... trying to preheat it. Set it to “smoke” setting and it climbed up passed 350 almost 400 at one point. It’s going nuts! Any ideas or suggestions??
 

kysmokin

New member
Joined
Apr 4, 2020
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
42025
I've got the same problem and have received no responses about this issue.
 

Jrmast

New member
Joined
Apr 19, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Indiana
Is the burner clean? Is the smoker sitting in the sun? Those are the only things I could think of.
 

Morrisonr

New member
Joined
Apr 19, 2020
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Oklahoma
I just had the same issue. Had smoker set at 250. And now it only has a smoke setting at smoke and 150 and everything else sets it to high. There is no in between.
 

wyo1661

New member
Joined
Mar 19, 2020
Messages
19
Reaction score
10
Points
3
Location
Littleton, CO
Not sure on all the start up procedures for each of the different units or what you are working with. However, I have the Classic and follow:
- Turn on, set to smoke setting, leave lid open until startup smoke is gone.
- Set to desired temperature setting and close the lid.
- I vacuum out the barrel and burn pot about every 3-4 cooks or after a long cook as there is always plenty of ash in there.
This has worked for me 100% of the time for the past 2 years. On another forum, I saw mention of cleaning the temp probe inside the barrel so as to make sure it reads correctly. I have not had an issue so I have not done that yet. Sorry, cannot help much more than that. Keep us posted if you learn more or a solution.
 

MikeInFla

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 24, 2020
Messages
501
Reaction score
115
Points
43
Location
Panama City, FL
I have had this happen from time to time. My last cook I used a thermometer and mounted it on the grate. If I had the PB set to 250 the probe read very close to that even if the digital readout said 300. Temp swings are normal but mine mainly does it in the first hour and then levels off. Also be sure to clean off the PB temp probe from time to time.
 

Latest Discussions

Top